Jay Z = first rapper inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame

Jay Z has just become the first rapper inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. This announcement comes on the heels of Jay Z starting a venture capital fund.

Linda Moran, president of the Hall of Fame, told the New York Times about Jay Z’s induction

“To be honest with you, last year we talked about it a lot. Our board and community wasn’t ready. This year we felt that they had been educated enough…He was flipping out, he was going crazy,” she said.

Also inducted: Babyface, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, James Pankow, Berry Gordy, Max Martin, Robert Lamm, and Peter Cetera of Chicago.

Nominated but not chosen: Madonna, Sly Stone, George Michael, Bryan Adams, Jeff Lynne, Kool & the Gang, Gloria Estefan, Cat Stevens, Vince Gill, and David Gates.

The induction ceremony will be on June 15th at the Marriott Marquis in New York. Songwriters having a songwriting career of at least 20 years are eligible for induction.